h1

Samantha: Chile!

August 10, 2009

Chile 1 016.JPGI arrived in Chile on the 25th of July! My days have been full of getting to know my family, the cities of Valparaiso and Vina del Mar and my University!

I live with a mom named Sandra, her husband Horacio and their three children, Camila (19), Javiera (17), and Matias (16). We live in a calm residential neighborhood called Miraflores from which I take a bus called a Micro to my University or other areas of Vina del Mar or Valparaiso. The people here drive very fast and seemingly out of control but I have only seen two car accidents in the two weeks that I have been here!

I start classes today and am directly enrolled in the Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso with other Chilean students. I am struggling with the language as well as being blonde in a Latin American Country! I didn’t think that people would care this much that I was blonde! I traveled to Santiago, the capital of Chile this past weekend and was the object of many people staring and commenting. Some high school students even asked me if I was Paris Hilton. An interesting experience very similar to being in a zoo.

The ocean is beautiful here and there are palm trees and sunshine! It is winter so it gets very very cold at night and there is no central heating! It is very hard to get out of bed in the morning when you can see your breath! I am doing well and learing how to survive in the “Chilean Jungle”! Choa

Leave a Reply

