h1

Emma: Pre-departure

February 2, 2010

Looking back to last year at this time I never would have imagined that I would be flying to Australia, leaving everything I know behind to live what is going to be by far the best and may I add most expensive 6 months of my college life. On Saturday Feb. 6, 2010 I will embark on what is bound to be the journey of a life time.

It didn’t hit me until the other day on my drive home from Minneapolis that in a mere 96 hours I will be boarding a plane traveling to “The Land Down Under.” The past few days I have spent packing, saying goodbyes and just preparing myself for what I am about to get into.

The task of packing has been extremely overwhelming, but I feel somewhat confident that I have everything that I will need…It’s been pretty fun packing swimsuits and dresses while I watch the snow fall outside, knowing that when I land in Cairns, Australia it will be around 85 degrees! One thing I know I will not miss for sure is the brutal Minnesota winters. There are plenty of things that I will miss when I am gone, including family, friends, my roommates, favorite foods, but right now I am doing all I can to think of all the adventures and amazing times I am about to have in the land of Oz.

Traveling to Australia has always been a dream of mine and I am so excited that it is finally coming true. I am looking forward to meeting and making life long friends with people from all over the world, so I can someday travel back and see them again. Who knows maybe I will follow even more in my moms footsteps and nanny while I am there as well : )

Well, here goes nothing! This is real life…in a few short days I will be hanging out with Kangaroos, diving the reef, playing the didgeridoo, surfing, saying G’day Mate on a regular basis, and living with “no worries.”

Peace Out USA and Hello AUSTRALIA!!

Leave a Reply

