h1

Heather: Soccer!

February 3, 2010

I had hot chocolate yesterday! So good!

So this weekend 13 of us are going to Hell’s Gate National Park for the weekend. Somehow I was placed in charge of everything. I didn’t really mind because I know that everything will get done and we won’t have to worry about anything. The only thing was that some people wanted to leave on Friday, some on Saturday, and some wanted to return on Saturday, and some on Sunday. Way too much work to figure that all out. So I told everyone that I was planning Friday-Sunday, and if they wanted to do something else, they would have to find their own transportation.

I talked to Jane, one of the MSID advisors, and she hooked me up with this guy who arranges group trips like this. Last semester he took a group to Masai Mara. I met up with him today and got all the transportation and prices figured out. Not too bad. There are 10 of us leaving on Friday after class and heading to the park and the other 3 are coming up on Saturday morning. The guy told me he’s going to take us on an hour safari when we get there. We’re just going to hang around Naivasha for the rest of the night then.

We are camping in the park, so we’re renting all the equipment from him and he’s giving us a deal on it because Jane recommended him. I’m excited for the camping! On Saturday we are going to rent bikes for the day and we’re going to bike around the park. This should be fun, but probably really tiring. There’s place where we can stop and hike around too.

It’s really nice that we have this guy helping us plan the trip because he can get us the best rates. I think the whole weekend, not including food that we’re going to bring, is about Ksh3200 ($45).

Today we only had 2 classes, both Swahili. The second Swahili class was really nice for my class because we got to go to a market and work on our bargaining skills in swahili. It’s a lot harder than it sounds. I accidently said “Tofaa saa ngapi?” instead of “Tofaa pesa ngapi?” I asked what time the apple was, not how much it costed. I’m dumb. Liana and I found this mini watermelon looking fruits, so we bought them thinking they would be mini watermelons. Definitely not. They were cucumbers! Circular. And when you bit into them, they made your lips go numb for a few minutes!

At 4, a bunch of us went to play soccer against an actual team of 16-17 year old girls. It was a lot of fun but so weird. It was a dirt field and we only had tennis shoes on. There is no such thing as a quick stop, let me tell you. But we had a lot of fun. The girls weren’t the greatest, but they definitely weren’t bad. We tied 1-1 today. Every Wednesday we’re going to play against them. Show them what Americans have got.

I got an ACTUAL HOT SHOWER today! We had water today (thank god) and I was thinking it was just going to be warm water, but it was so hot! I am not going to complain because 1-I was extremely dirty and needed a good shower, 2-I haven’t had a good shower in 2 1/2 weeks, and 3-I don’t know when the next one will be so I am just going to embrace it!

Leave a Reply

