h1

Daniel: Domingo

February 9, 2010
I went on a walking tour of downtown Cuernavaca this past Sunday with a small group after overcoming whatever implanted itself in my stomach. We visited three places of general interest to most visitors to the city including the Palacio de Cortés, the Cathedral of Cuernavaca, and the Borda Garden. Each destination was quite interesting in it’s own respect and with the help of my trusty Charliopedia, I learned many things about each one that I would’ve never otherwise known. Ever. The extent to which I can explain this mans knowledge in text only goes as far as the seemingly more appropriate name I’ve given him. I plan to buy a small tape recorder for our next excursion in hope that I can actually bring back a sliver of the informational pie he swiftly plants in my face every time we go anywhere.Anywho, I also had the opportunity to go to the house/bed and breakfast/art museum of Carol Hopkins (a friend and colleague of Charlie’s whose also a facilitator of the service learning course/ VAMOS) for dinner. I really should have taken pictures but I’ll make sure to next time. She has 4 dogs including a black lab, Portuguese water dog, a very large English sheep dog named Panda for obvious reasons, and a 16 year old street dog. Oh and a donkey named Petunia. Unreal. We got an informative tour of her house which displays art from all over Mexico and parts of South America, played some pool, and even got a chance to watch some of the Superbowl. I think we all were a bit baffled by the half time show though… Is that the general consensus in the US? I sincerely hope so.

Leave a Reply

