h1

Emma: arrival in Sydney

February 14, 2010

WOW! That is all I can say about anything and everything going on in my life right now.

On my last day in Cairns we took a 2 hour boat ride out to The Great Barrier Reef and I am not kidding when I say it was the most beautiful thing I have ever seen in my life. The water was GORGEOUS and so blue. Everyone got to scuba dive and I actually did it and now I am obsessed. I was super nervous at first but once you go it is the coolest thing in the entire world. We got to see so much stuff and all I could think about the entire time was Finding Nemo! ahhh

We then got to go to this beach that was then infested with birds haha but the sand was super soft. We had to wear these really hot blue stinger suits so we didn’t get stung by jellies, but it was cool because we could touch them without being stung!

The next day we boarded an early flight to Sydney! We arrived in the afternoon and I fell in love immediately. It reminds me SO much of NYC and as you all know I have always dreamed of living there. King St runs parallel to where I am staying and it is filled with internet cafes, cute little boutiques, and so much more! I will for sure be spending a lot of time here!

My room is absolutely amazing! I have a queen size bed… Yes that made me happy because I knew I was going to miss that from home. I have my own bathroom with a shower, a huge wardrobe thing, desk, and shelves. AMAZING! A lot of the people I met during the week in Cairns are in the same building as me. After we set all of our stuff down we walked to Broadway Shopping Center where there is a Target, Kmart and Grocery Store. We bought pretty much everything we needed and it was relatively inexpensive so that was awesome! I bought TimTams which are these amazing chocolate cookie things yummm! The shopping center is only about a 15 min walk.

We then left the mall with SOOO many bags and went outside to find it pouring…sooo I set my bags down  and ran up the street to the corner and hailed a cab in the pouring rain. HA! When we got back to Sydney University Village where I am living a few guys and a girl were outside and started yelling AMERICAAA! So my friend Betsy and I naturally said hi. They were from Australia and New Zealand and helped us carry all of out bags upstairs. Then invited us to come to the bars with them later. I learned last night that Australians love Vodka lime and sodas and that a Toohey’s beer will never be more then 5 dollars a glass.

Other then that I am so happy! We had a BBQ at “The Village” today and I am making so many Australian friends. One of the girls is so sweet, Shona, and said she was going to make us a guide to Sydney about how to get everywhere and what busses to take! And we also already met a boy with a car who said he would drive us to Ikea and other places!

Leave a Reply

