h1

Veronica: My integrated class

February 17, 2010

I’m only taking one integrated class here, which is something I’m actually glad about now even though I wanted to take three (a little bit much). It’s kind of intense, but in a different way than you would expect.

The class is French and US history during the 20th century; Monday is about the US and Thursday is about France. It’s not really hard per se. Sometimes the French can be fast, but the subject itself isn’t difficult. The thing that’s hard is that there is only one grade. For each section I have to write a huge paper (and present in the US section for 30 minutes) and the best grade is chosen. That’s the only grade. Which is a little bit scary if you don’t do too well on either of them. The thing that is weird is that you can write about whatever you want, so I don’t see the point in actually going to class if you don’t have to be accountable for what is given in lecture. Of course, I still go because it’s interesting and I made a Polish friend, but I don’t see the motivation for the French to go. There must be something to it that I don’t know.

I don’t think it will be too bad, but that definitely is a lot of writing to do in French…especially if your focus is on travel and not school. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

