h1

Heather: Pickpocketers!

March 2, 2010

This’ll be a short one, but I just wanted to let you know I have experienced my first attempted pickpocketing. Fortunately for me and unfortunately for them, nothing was taken. They actually made a pretty lame attempt. We were on our way to Junction this afternoon and two of us were toward the front of the matatu while our other friend was toward the back. We got almost to Junction and 4 or 5 guys got on with huge bags and surrounded us. Each of us had our computers and our passports with us because we were going to go to the UN and work on our papers, but we decided against it. I also had my iPod and hard drive with me to transfer some of my movies to my friend.

So these guys get in and not even a minute later they were telling us to put our seatbelts on because the people were checking. Well obviously they weren’t checking because we weren’t slowing down. So I just ignored hm and he kept telling me this so finally I just lazily reached over and half grabbed it. While I was doing this he moved his bag over my lap and I pushed it away and told him to keep it to himself. Then he was trying to put his seatbelt on so I sat up a little bit to make room for him and when I did this I felt him grab my back pocket. Too bad there was nothing in there. The worst part was that when we tried to get off the matatu, he was blocking the door so my friend and I couldn’t get off. The only way to get off was to literally crawl over him. So I told him to get out of my way and shoved my way out.

In the end the attempt was pretty funny because they were so bad at it. But at least nothing was taken from us.

Leave a Reply

