h1

Heather: 2 a.m. hospital trip

March 26, 2010

I don’t think Mombasa likes me very much. Last night I got home from work and I thought I had some dust or something in my eye so I took my contacts out to clean my eyes. Well, they still hurt so I decided I would just wait it out. Bad idea. I couldn’t sleep because when my eyes were shut it hurt even worse. So I got up at midnight and looked in a mirror, only to find that my eye was the size of an apple and swollen shut. I thought I would wait til morning to go to the hospital, but it was unbearably painful. I woke my host mom at 2am. She took one look at me and told me I had an eye infection.

I got to the hospital and got let right in (2am is a great time to go—no one there!). They didn’t really even look at me that much; they just told me I had an infection. I guess there’s a pretty nasty infection going around that’s really contagious. Guess I got it somehow. So I got some painkillers and eye drops to sort it all out. I hope it doesn’t take too long to fix—gotta go to the beach this weekend! And it didn’t cost too much either. The taxi ride there and back cost more than the visit and medications.

Other than that minor mishap, things have been going well. Just been working this week from 7:30–5. Pretty long days in the sun. Tuesday I had to walk around all morning in my full gear. I like to relate it to a Carhartt outfit because that’s what it feels like. I was drenched in sweat. Yesterday it was cloudy and a little rainy so I definitely embraced that. It gets sort of frustrating when you think you should be doing something at work, but there’s nothing to do. Like yesterday I sat around for about 4 of the 8 hours I was there.

When I do get to do stuff, I am doing some feeding and observing of animals. I feed the giraffes (Henry is my favorite, though he likes to steal the food from the younger giraffes). Before I left last night I helped with the snake feeding too. We went out to the rat house and killed 3 rats and then gave them to different snakes. It was actually really cool to do that. One of the Puff Adders was hissing like crazy. I thought he was going to strike. But luckily, he did not. Had to skip work today because of my eye, and we’ll see how it is tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

