h1

Kelsey: さくら さくら のやま も さと も (Sakura, sakura, noyama mo sato mo)

April 8, 2010

The title of this post is from a Japanese folk song about the start of spring, sakura being the cherry blossoms that are blooming everywhere right now. Consequently, I could not get it out of my head today. The last time I was in Japan with Measure 5 (my orchestra from high school), we played an arrangement of it.

Today I walked around the entire Imperial Palace area of Chiyoda, Tokyo. It is the imperial palace, the residence of the Emperor and his family. It is smack dab in the middle of Tokyo and is just a huge wooded/garden area with moats and castles and museums. It is also about a mile from my school. When I first saw the area map of the Yotsuya area (where Sophia is) I was in awe of how there could be such a huge area of green in the middle of the city. I’m glad I got to see it today, but unfortunately the palace grounds and museums were closed by the time I got there. It will definitely be worth going back another time.

I will soon find out the results of my placement test and we have an advising appointment. I’ve picked out my classes and I am very excited to start learning more about Japanese society in a classroom setting.

I feel like I always have really good things to write about when I’m out, but as soon as I get home I can’t think of anything to put here. I would like to have theme-like posts about certain aspects of Japanese society instead of full synopses of my days here, so I’ll have to start taking notes throughout the day so I can write something interesting later. I get home after hours of being out and walking around everywhere and I just want to sit, so it’s hard to do anything worthwhile except mindless things like upload pictures on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

