h1

Trystan: Time

May 12, 2010

As I write this, I have 14 hours of exams staring me down. (First off, isn’t that insane!? 14 hours of exams for 3 classes – jeez!). I’ve been studying Norwegian for a good portion of the day, and need to continue. I really hope to take more classes when I get home. I know it’s not “practical,” but I really like the language—this coming from someone who sucks at learning them. That’s not to say I’ve had the same experience as some others studying abroad. I didn’t stay with a host family, nor did I even live with Norwegians. Though I can read and speak at a basic level, conversations with proper Norwegians are still firmly out of my grasp. The speaking is one thing; the dialect is another beast entirely. Conversations I instinctively know I should know are incoherent to me. Bit frustrating, but ah well.

I’ve started planning out my summer travels. Leaving is definitely going to be very bittersweet. I’m scared as hell, but I can’t wait to be “out there” travelling around for 2 months. I’m going to miss Norway, a lot. I’m absolutely going to miss everyone in Fantoft more than I can even put in words. These people have become part of my life in ways that I will not and cannot forget. I don’t want to get too sentimental just yet. We’ve still got a whole month left! Finals, shminals: there’s plenty of time to enjoy ourselves. And I’m going to see most of them in their hometowns / areas this summer. But already I’m starting to feel it. It’s going to be a long, difficult process—one which I’ve never had to deal with before and will most likely not experience again. This kind of long-distance, long-term, conceivably permanent separation? It’s staggering to think about. But it’s also incredibly humbling and gratifying. How was I lucky enough to run into all these people, at these particular times in our lives? It seems to good to be true. I’m starting to get that strange dream sensation that I had when I first came here. Is this real? Am I really in Norway right now? Can this actually be my life?

Funny how that comes full circle. Maybe it’s an automatic reaction to loss or change, I don’t know.

At any rate, this is the best dream I’ve ever had. Please don’t pinch me just yet.

Leave a Reply

