h1

Kelsey: What I’ve been up to

June 8, 2010

So midterms are finally over!! I didn’t do half as bad as I thought I did on my Japanese midterm, so that gives me motivation to keep trying to do well in the class. The class material and quizzes are comparable to the Japanese class I took last semester, but the exams are SO HARD! I’ll just keep studying…

I had gotten into the bad habit of bumming around in my room rather than going out, with homework and the expense of going anywhere else my excuse. But instead of coming home and actually doing my homework, I would just waste time on the computer. So last week after my one class days, I decided to change that. I ended up buying a konbini (convenience store) lunch and taking my homework to a park on both Monday and Thursday. The weather has been beautiful, so it was nice to sit in the sun and be productive all at the same time. It greatly improved my mood as well!

PhotobucketHere is my oishii lunch from the konbini! The package in front is onigiri, a rice ball with salmon flakes and wrapped in nori (seaweed). Pucca are little chocolate cookies filled with vanilla cream, like little Oreo balls, heh. And that’s Lipton Apple Tea… so delicious!

Below is the view from my bench where I did my Japanese homework and studied for my History midterm on Thursday. The park is really close to the station where I get off for school, so every 5 minutes I could feel the rumble of the subway going underground.

Photobucket

************************
I’m down to less than 2 months before I leave! I feel like I’ve wasted a lot of this experience, so I’m determined to make the most of the rest of my time here. One thing that has really helped is that I gave a trial lesson to a potential English student this morning and I have another lesson set up for tomorrow. I signed up for two English teaching services as soon as I got here, but gave up on getting students because I hadn’t heard anything for a while. Better late than never, though, right? The income will be much appreciated and I am hoping to improve my teaching skills too.

I am going to try to stay on top of homework better, go out and see more of Tokyo, and update this blog more!! I am homesick and I can’t wait to be back in America, but I don’t want to waste this opportunity.

Leave a Reply

