h1

Jim: What a weekend

June 14, 2010

Well, Saturday anyway. Jesús had his first communion at Parroquia Santiago de la Punta (Jesús is 12 years old, the youngest of my homestay family). Not too different from a first communion at a Lutheran church in Minnesota, but the family gathering afterward lasted all day & part of the night instead of just a few hours. Most of my homestay family does not speak any English—at least not enough to be comfortable trying. The only one who does, Raphael, was out most of the day. I was a little concerned about if I knew enough Spanish to get through a full day in a house full of people (roughly a dozen, give or take). For the most part I was keeping up with conversations. Sometimes I would understand most of it, other times I was just completely lost – but not that often, much less than I expected. The food was great, though way too many sweets for me. A lot of fun, great chance to put my comprehension to the test (I think I passed), but way more tiring than I expected.

Check out the slideshow here.

Leave a Reply

