h1

Jim: Scouting in Venezuela

June 16, 2010
This is a little older, maybe from two weeks ago (actually closer to three). I’m not quite sure. I was hoping to find a Scout Troop while here to spend some time with. Mostly out of curiosity. To see what is different, what is the same, and spend some time with people outside of a tourist or student setting. The first or second day here I noticed a lot of people—kids & adults wearing their Scout uniforms, but at that point I was still trying to figure out where I should be, when and how to get from one place to another, so I really didn’t have the opportunity to talk to anybody. The following week I saw people with their uniforms on again, and by that point walking up to somebody I didn’t know and blurting out a few simple questions was almost standard procedure for any situation. I found out that Tuesdays are when all Scouts wear their uniforms, and that they meet for three hours on Saturday afternoons. I made it to the first meeting, a few of the more noticeable differences between Scouting here and at home:
  • Scouting in Venezuela (like most of the world) is coed. There are not separate Boy Scout and Girl Scout organizations.
  • Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts are distinct groups within Scouting at home. Here the older kids & younger kids are together in the same Troop. I don’t know enough about Girl Scouts to say whether this is the same or different.
  • Kids are kids, no matter where they are or what language they speak. If there is a new face, they’ll do everything they can to make sure they get noticed.
Click to see some photos and video on my photobucket slideshow.
Leave a Reply

