h1

Lindsay: Three weeks in

July 19, 2010

Cable Car!

I have also survived my first week of classes. School is pretty normal really. Nothing too terribly different, except that sometimes I feel I have some catching up to do in terms of New Zealand politics and history. Been reading a lot of Wikipedia articles to try and counter that. My books were a lot more expensive than I thought they would be. But in general, school is pretty good. I turned in my first assignment today. It’s pretty cool because for my two literature classes I have the same teacher. It’s also kind of different here because you don’t call your teachers Mrs. Whatever or Mr. Whatever. You call them by their first names. Definitely something that will take some getting use to.

The food in the dining hall is alright. It has its good days and bad days. I don’t think they understand the concept of Mexican food but they keep trying to make it anyway. I had some really weird nachos the other day. The chips were cheese flavored chips (the nachoes didn’t actually have cheese on them) and the meat had green beans and carrots mixed into it. So weird! Also I had an ‘enchilada’ last night that was just… weird. They ran out of chicken enchiladas so I had to have a vegetarian one. It was a bizarre mix of potatoes, rice, broccoli, peas, carrots and green beans. And the sauce wasn’t Mexican tasting at all. It was like a kind of spicy spaghetti sauce. Tonight is suppose to be Hawaiian food night with pizza, so hopefully they do a better job with that (how can you mess up ham and pineapple?)

With being sick all weekend, I began to miss home a lot and feel pretty terrible in general. Everyone has their ‘culture shock’ period of time when they go abroad, and apparently will often times ‘boycott’ a part of the culture that just starts to get to them. I learned this during our International Students Orientation day. A Canadian woman and an American woman talked to us about their experiences. The American said during her boycott phase, she just couldn’t stand to hear the kiwi accent anymore. The Canadian talked about when she was in Japan for a year, she started to refuse to eat rice. I think my problem is going to be/is currently food. It is probably just a matter of “This dorm food sucks and it’s started to get on my nerves”. I hope so anyway. This weekend since all I could do really was sit in and be sick and miserable I started craving American food so bad. It didn’t help some of my friends were putting pictures of Steak N Shake food on Facebook.

So today since it was fairly nice out for the first time this weekend, and I was feeling a bit better I decided to take the cable car into town and feed my craving for American food. That’s right: McDonalds. Luckily, there is one right next to the Lambton Quay Station where the cable car lets off. Unsurprisingly, my typical order was very confusing. “Two double cheeseburgers with ketchup only” is confusing for a few reasons.

  • Apparently, they mostly call it ‘tomato sauce’ instead of ketchup
  • The girl thought I meant a bun with just cheese and tomato sauce on it

Cheeseburger craving, solved.

Leave a Reply

