h1

Meredith: No such thing as stupid questions

July 26, 2010

I have arrived safely in Buenos Aires. I love my host mom/grandma/woman. That was so not kosher to write all of that. I think I’m going to call her an abuela because once an abuela you are also a madre y una mujer. I’m so smart!

Anyway, so right now my time consists of sitting through many orientation activities, which is fine because the program director is HILARIOUS and super nice. All the employees of IFSA-BUTLER are wonderful.

A lot of the orientation is full of information to scare us from going out late at night alone, or from entering danger zones of the city, etc. But some of it is downright hilarious. See the following questions that students asked and the director read out to us (strangely enough, they may seem stupid at first, but all questions are legitimate!)

1. How can we communicate?
2. How much time should I spend in the shower
3. Is it okay to eat in the city?
4. How do cell phones function here?
5. How can we contact each other?

I died laughing on the inside. Some were actually great questions though. Here are the sarcastic answers the director gave (S), and then some real advice (R). This was all in spanish, BTW. I am doing you a favor and translating.

1. S:By speaking to each other? R: any way you want.
2. S: um…what? R: This is a good question but you don’t have to worry about how much time you spend in the shower. It is not more expensive for the home stay families if you spend a long time in the shower, but you should ask just to be polite.
3. S: No R: Of course! Ha, just don’t eat food made on the streets or sold on the streets.
4. S: Very well. R: Just like in the U.S.
5. S: You have no need to contact each other R: You have no need to contact each other.

For the last questions, the answer is the same. That is hilarious because it is so true. We shouldn’t spend time with only “los americanos” down here. We need to branch out. I’ve learned this, and also that I should not be afraid to ask any questions. Not even how much time I should spend in the shower.

Leave a Reply

