h1

Lindsay: battling homesickness

September 13, 2010

I’m sorry for not writing for so long, but I promises I have some good reasons.

The week after I wrote last I was pretty sick. I had a sore throat and flu-like symptoms. It was no fun. I drank a lot of hot lemonade and this medicine called Lemsip, which is a powder you dissolve in hot water and drink. It also had a lemony flavor.

At the end of my last week of break I also started battling a strong case of home sickness. I’m at the half-way point of my stay here. To be honest, I didn’t expect to be so homesick. I’ve wanted to go home from places before sure, but there is a distinct difference, I feel, between just not enjoying yourself and wanting to go home and homesickness. For example, I have been longing for certain things from home that are not available here. A lot of the differences between New Zealand and America aren’t things I can really put my finger on. It’s kind of an atmospheric and attitude difference I guess. I’m not saying I don’t like New Zealand. I love it. But this is the longest I have ever been away from home, my parents and my country.

I think the thing I am looking forward to the most when I get home is cooking. I am going to cook like there is no tomorrow. I have made a huge collection of recipes I have found online in my spare time. I just want to cook everything!

So for the past week I have been working quite hard on school assignments and battling homesickness. School is harder for me here. Back home I know the routine. I know where everything is, the rules, the standards, etc. Things are different here. And there is always an assumed amount of New Zealand knowledge in assignments that I just don’t have.

One comment

  1. Just reading your post, I had the same feelings when I was studying abroad in Sydney for a semester. I was dying for a Chipotle when I was abroad! It’s almost like a twilight zone, some things are so similar but just different enough to make you feel a bit strange. Hang in there! Some things that may help, think of all the cool things you can do in New Zealand that you can’t do in Minnesota, that you’ll miss when you leave. I recommend going to the Kathmandu outdoor store, trying some Cyclops yoghurt, Zorbing, seafood, the All Blacks rugby team, lots of wool socks!
    Good luck!



Leave a Reply

