h1

Lindsay: Update

September 19, 2010

I’ve been quite busy with school lately. Maori Society and Culture is especially hard for me. I’ve gotten pretty good marks in my two literature classes though.

The thing about being here is that I feel like it has put more of an emphasis on all the things I don’t know. Back home I spend so much time thinking about the things I do know and here it seems the opposite. Being in a different country really brings into focus how little I know about the world.

I do have some things to look forward to in the next few weeks. It looks like I’m going to be able to visit my other internet-friend, Carly, in Brisbane, Australia for a weekend. I met her the exact same way I met Nav: Lord of the Rings Online. People would be surprised at how close of friends one can make on the internet. Yes, there are some bad, mean people on the internet but for the most part people are nice and it’s just a matter of finding them.

As to the picture at the top of this post: I have grown quite fond of Gingerbeer. It is quite different from Gingerale (Gingerale is much dryer) and is, I would say, sweeter. I have also noticed that they use real sugar in most of the food here. No sucrose/dextrose/whateverose in the ingredients. Just sugar.

Tomorrow night, myself and two of the other girls on my floor of my building are having a dessert night and watching one of the Lord of the Rings movies. Two weeks ago we also had a dessert night and ordered pizzas. I’m wondering if anyone is planning on having some kind of party for Halloween. That would be interesting.

Leave a Reply

