h1

Britta: Moving to the jungle

October 27, 2010

We had our last day of classes on Friday.  Afterward we celebrated the Day of the Dead with special sugar bread and a delicious warm, fruit drink.  Then we all went outside on the terrace and danced salsa (or at least tried).

Now that the class portion of the semester is over, tomorrow I am headed to the Amazon to start the internship section!  I’ll be in Tena, a town of 100,000 people and one of the places I visited the first time I went to the jungle. There are six other students who will be near me (mostly public health kids who are interning at the hospital), and we’re being driven the 3 hours out there tomorrow morning.

I found a new internship, but I am still a little worried about it. Although my professor assures me this is not the case, I’m nervous it is too agriculture-based. I honestly am not sure even what the organization does…something about environmental education and cultivation. Hopefully it will be good!

Tomorrow I will also be getting a new family. Again, I know very little about them. I don’t know if I have host siblings or if it’s a single mom or anything. My professor did suggest, however, that they are very well connected…so we’ll see what that means.

I am a little sad to leave Quito and my family here. I didn’t like the city very much at first—and there are still things a dislike—but for the most part I am really comfortable here now.  I’m excited to move to a new place, but it will of course take some getting used to.  I am definitely worried about the change in weather!  Tena is hot and humid, whereas Quito has the most perfect weather.  It is like spring in the Midwest every day.

Wish me luck in the Amazon! I am not sure what my Internet situation will be, but hopefully I can post again soon.

–Brittany Libra

Leave a Reply

