h1

Chris: One hell of a month (part 2: Iguassu Falls)

December 7, 2010

Hello ‘Merica:

So continuing with my story, it was Tuesday Oct. 12, super early in the morning that I headed to Iguassu from Rio. I was ready for some adventure, so Iguassu presented a great way to see nature, bro-out with my friends Luke and Dana, and just have an overall great time. This was also going to be my first time seeing one of the great natural sights of the world.

It was weird being in a rural area. I mean Salvador isn’t a particularly big city, it has between 3 and 4 million people, depending on which cab driver you ask. Iguassu is really in the middle of nowhere, with a completely different feel that Salvador. Imagine, for a way to contrast it, going from New Orleans to South Dakota.

I stepped off the plane with an excitement that I haven’t had in a long time. For those of you who know me, I have seen a few things in my day. At (almost) 22 years young, I have gone piranha fishing, bungee jumped and taken part in the slaughtering of a wild pig, but every time I embark on a trip, I am still as excited as my first one. Plus, I was getting to see my friends Luke and Dana.

Luke and I had planned on keeping this trip to just the two of us, but Dana was able to successfully invite herself onto our bro-liday. So of course we had to put Dana (a girl btw, I know that that name can be ambiguous), through her bro paces. It is here that I need to give Dana a shout out: she was able to put up with our dirty jokes, flatulence, mockery, and us making her cook us dinner, like a champ. Therefore, here on my blog, I would like to officially, in writing, give her the title of BRO! Congrats Dana! Not may girls are awarded this title. I hope that after a ripe old age, your obituary will read: Dana, caring friend, loving mother and first and foremost, a BRO.

So the first day there was spent hanging with my old friends. I was a little nervous, as I always am before I see people I haven’t seen in a while. I mean, I was close to Dana and especially Luke this summer, but you never know how a new context will change friendships and even bro-mances. But that first day there was amazing. We chilled at the hostel, had a few beers, and went on a really short hike to the river.

The river sat close to the hostel, which was located in the middle of the fields, far from any large buildings or a McDonalds. Once we got there, we were able to hang out, swim and have an great time until sunset. The water was brown, but whatever, I mean that’s what we have immune systems for.

After the river, we went back, had some cervejas, cooked a dinner I can’t remember, and spent the evening in the best way possible: slightly buzzed and living in the moment.

The next day, we went to see the Argentina side of Iguassu Falls. Now I know that the majority of my readers probably haven’t been to Iguassu, so I’ll do my best to describe it. Iguassu is a chain of waterfalls on the boarder between Brazil and Argentina.

Now I have mentioned that I am skeptical of tourist traps. And Iguassu is defiantly that, but it was still sweet. I mean the falls are really something special to see. If anyone happens to find themselves in Brazil or Argentina, with a weekend and a few hundred dollars to burn, go.

The Waterfalls are spectacular. I mean there are not only a ton of them, but there are tons of falling water. I have been to waterfalls before, but I have never seen anything quite like this. There is just so much water, you see it, hear it and feel it. The park is ok, I mean it has well marked paths—everyone and their grandmother could see the whole park. No real hiking or anything like that. My pictures don’t do the views justice, so I guess what I am trying to say, is if your grandmother is looking to take you on a trip, take her here.

There is this one fall called Devils throat. It is amazing. I mean seeing all the water, standing on top of it, looking down at the valley below.

The next day was more of the same. We went to the Brazilian side of the falls, left Dana at the hostel—she was tired and BROed out. After the falls, we wen to a the Iguassu Falls Bird Park.

The bird park was amazing. We saw all kinds of toucans, parrots, humming birds, just to name a few. Now I like birds, I like them a lot, but I am by no means a bird fanatic. I would imagine that for a bird fanatic, it would be heaven. They best part is that they let you get up close with the animals. You enter a room full of humming birds and butterflies flying everywhere, the next is toucans, and another for parrots. It was awesome. We got to touch toucans, it was sweet.

And like that, before I knew it, the trip was over. Three days, and one hell of a trip, but in the end, all I have are memories. Like all amazing experiences in life, it was too short. And here I am, more than a month later, struggling to capture the details of the memories. But enough of that EMO tangent…

Be good ‘Merika

Leave a Reply

