h1

Jonathan: Ready to go!

January 3, 2011

Well, it is finally here. After months of preparation, hours of phone calls, boatloads of money, a couple of sleepless nights and a lot of patience, the day has finally arrived. First, to Israel, where I will spend a week at a Habonim Dror seminar talking and thinking. Then, eight days with my grandparents in Holon, near Tel Aviv, where I will do more talking and thinking, but also some eating. During this time I will mainly visit with family and some friends, and wrap up loose ends with school and my research. But then the excitement really starts when, on January 17, I will fly from Tel Aviv to Delhi for the start of the program (called MSID India).  But more on that later.

Before Delhi, I have about 23 hours and 45 minutes of traveling to conduct (DTW-EWR-TLV-BRU-DEL).  But never fear, I have a library worth of books to keep me entertained.

  • In Spite of the Gods: The Rise of Modern India by Edward Luce (2006, Anchor Books)
  • Somebody Else’s Century: East and West in a Post-Western World by Patrick Smith (2010, Pantheon Books)
  • Travelers’ Tales India: True Stories edited by James O’Reilly and Larry Habeggar (2004, Solas House)
  • Indian Summer: The Secret History of the End of an Empire by Alex von Tunzelmann (2007, Picador)

And at that, I sign off until January 17.

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

