h1

Kelly: New goals & adventures…

January 3, 2011

I leave for Quito, Ecuador on January 17, 2011. I am participating in the Minnesota Studies in International Development (MSID) Ecuador program. The study abroad experience is structured so that the first half on the semester is classroom/field learning in/around Quito (which is the capital).  The second six weeks will most likely be in a more rural area completing a community service internship. During the entire stay, I will be living with Ecuadorian host families.

Here is the link to the program website.

At the end of the program, my parents are planning on visiting me for a week (yay!). I’ll be spending one more week after that in South America before heading back to the states on May 21.

My boyfriend will be in Norway at this time (well, plus 2 additional months)—that’s a seven hour time difference and 6,000 miles away. At least I will be warm where I am.

I plan to reflect and journal as much as I can while I am in Ecuador, though internet access will be more limited during the second half of the semester.

Leave a Reply

