h1

Miles: Capitalism saves the day

January 8, 2011

I am here! (Here is Oslo, in case you can’t keep up.)

It is almost midnight in my new time zone, which means it’s time for my jet-legged butt to get to sleep. But first, a recap of the trip here:

My first flight was Chicago to Paris. I lucked out an had an entire two seats to myself. This results in me lying in some weird fetal position twist against the seatback sort of thing to try and sleep. I did a pretty damn good job, if I do say so myself. I don’t feel nearly as tired as I thought I would.

The Paris to Oslo flight was extremely average. The language barrier began to kick in, but I kept the anxiety down as best as I could. When I got to Oslo, I was impressing myself with how prepared I was for the transit from the Airport to the University campus. (I had to take a train into the center of Oslo and then a metro to a Campus building to pick up my room key.)

Unbeknownst to me, my luggage decided to stay in Paris. I find myself in the airport with one outfit, nothing to sleep in or on (the dorms don’t provide linens and I had packed a whole set of extra sheets from freshman year), and no idea what to do. As calmly as possible, I continue my journey, get lost, find my way, get my keys, get lost, find my room, get inside, and collapse.

After the now official beginning of study abroad tear-fest 2011, I decide to head back to Oslo center to try and find warm things (a sweatshirt and sheets were the top of my list.) I remembered seeing a lot of businesses in the area and I figure that I can find something.

When I get off the T-Bane (metro), I accidentally walk into a mall. No lie. Suddenly I’m in a food court and there are four levels of stores surrounding me. The oddest part was that I immediately felt comforted. As twisted as the US Capitalistic experience is, having that (albeit disgusting) reminder of home made me relax. I bought a really gross falafel wrap from a stand and got everything I needed.

I don’t really know what I think of anything yet. I feel like I’m taking in so much that there’s no space for me to output about anything. I promise to carry my camera and a tiny notebook so that I can relay everything as well as it deserves to be told.

I will end with this:

Real talk, this place looks like Narnia.

Leave a Reply

