h1

Kelly: en Quito

January 18, 2011

I made it! I’m very tired and kind of sick (lots of coughing). We spent last night in a hotel and were bombarded with information today. I met my host family! Well, I haven’t met my host brother yet. Scrappie the dog doesn’t know what to think of me yet. I’m sitting on my host sister’s couch… she speaks English and I’m trying my best to not reciprocate. I think it’ll be a great fit.

I haven’t had time to do anything that’s not been organized for our group. We’re going on a retreat this weekend to someplace to “immerse! immerse!” I am surprised that understanding/speaking Spanish has been not as challenging as I thought it might (lots of double negatives there, I know).

Maybe I’ll write something more comprehensible/thorough later. I have to start/finish applying for a scholarship now though.

Leave a Reply

