h1

Kelly: Estoy aprendiendo…

January 21, 2011

(I am learning…)

  • Used toilet paper goes in the bin, not the toilet.
  • You greet everyone when you come home, with a beso on the cheek. You tell everyone when you are leaving, with a beso on the cheek.
  • You ask to be excused from the table (Con permiso?)—people eat together, how great!
  • The U.S. Embassy rates the “danger” level of Ecuador on a scale of Low, Medium, High, and Critical as the last-mentioned. Whatever. I know how to spot a legit taxi now, I’ll be just fine.
  • The sun is DIRECTLY above us here. Did you know that Mount Chimborazo is the closest point to the sun/the furthest from the center of the Earth?! Take that, Mt. Everest. This also means my pasty skin is especially sensitive to the rays. Yay sunscreen?
  • PDA is not an issue. I think it’s cute… usually.
  • High School Musical and Justin Beiber hold special places in the hearts of Ecuadorian pre-teens. Que triste.
  • Only half the cars of the city are allowed out everyday. There are high fines for violations, and jail time for the third.
  • MANGOS ARE SO GOOD! I already knew this though.
  • SO ARE AVOCADOS! Again, knew it. But seriously, it’s a dishonor to the produce in this country to try to compare it to anything in the U.S.

I am not motivated to finish my readings when there are so many other things to do and people to talk to and questions to ask. But I must, so I will sign off and share more revelations later…

(My host dad, Carlos, said today, “The weather here is like a woman,” and then proceeded to do a roller coaster motion with his hand and explain that all types of weather will occur in one day in Quito. Era muy cómico a mi.)

Leave a Reply

