h1

Lindsey: First take!

May 19, 2011

I finally made it to London! I got here yesterday, and besides all my nervousness, I found my way to my apartment (or flat as they call it here). The place we’re living is very nice, it’s a year old and I share a flat with 5 other girls. Three from MN and the other two from the university of Pittsburgh.

So, a sum up of my last two days here:

Yesterday we got here, got settled in, and toured the neighborhood. It’s very residential where we live and there’s little parks everywhere; very cute. We all bought cell phones and of of course had to get the most touristy one out there: the Kate and William wedding version. The phone is painted like a British flag and has a background picture of the couple as the background. Just in case I forget where I am. Ha.

We finally got some lunch around 3 at Pizza Hut. Pretty American right? Not in europe! We just wanted a quick pizza BUT it was a fancy sit down restaurant! Well not super fancy, but fancier than normal pizza huts in the US. After that, we came back showered and went right to bed. Soooo sleepy.

Today we finally got to use the tube!! It was surprisingly easy and wayyy better than Minneapolis Metro Transit. The people riding it are actually normal. But absolutely no one talks. They just sit there and read their paper/book/kindle. So when a group of noisy american girls got on, we definitely got some evil stares. Londeners are very much to themselves, which I don’t mind at all!

We had orientation today about London and another one for our internships. It was a long time to spend in a classroom on a sunny day! Inbetween orientations we walked around the neighborhood to Kensington Park which reminds me a lot of central park with all the people. There we saw Kensington Palace where Princess Diana used to live. It was our first palace we saw! Probably many more to come. Also there is shopping everywhere! Even on random little streets. It’s so hard to just go in and look around and not buy anything! It makes it easier if I keep telling myself I can go to Paris with my money. Here’s a picture of the place where we take classes:

And here’s princess Diana’s Kensington Palace (bad picture, I know):

We took the tube back and finally bought some groceries because it seems like we’re always starving. We’re cooking supper now and are starting to plan the rest of our trip! Tomorrow we have a welcoming reception and Saturday we’re going on a tour of London! Exciting, exciting!!

Leave a Reply

