h1

Luke: Royal Wedding

May 25, 2011

I arrived in Hyde Park the morning of the wedding to watch from the giant screens set up on the grass, but I realized I wanted to see it in person. No, I did not receive an invitation to Westminster Abbey, so I did the next-best thing: stand on the Mall in front of Clarence House (Prince of Wales’ residence) and watch everyone process past before and after the wedding. Prince William, Prince Harry, Prince Charles, the Queen and Prince Philip, etc all rode by. I didn’t catch any pictures of that because I was too busy making sure I could see for myself the historic day, but I did catch the Buckingham Palace balcony appearance and Royal Air Force flyover. Some of the planes in the flyover are from WWII, a reference to Britain’s indomitable spirit and successful resistance. The green boxes in front of the Palace and the media bleachers in front of the Abbey are not permanent; yes, there really was that much media hype for the event. 

Not everyone can go to Europe and say they saw the Pope and the Queen of England, but I can.

Dsc01891  Dsc01906   Dsc01911 Dsc01912   Dsc01920  Dsc01922 Dsc01923   Dsc01926 
Leave a Reply

