h1

Lauren: Exhaustion

June 16, 2011

Greetings!  I am writing to you from somewhere over the continental United States!  So far the journey (from Milwaukee to Minneapolis, back down to Chicago, and onto the plane to Rome) as been going smoothly enough, with the exception of some confusion as the massive O’Hare airport and a bit of turbulence we experienced leaving rainy Chicago.

It has been quite a process getting me prepared for my trip to Rome – with several shopping trips and extensive fashion research to ensure that I don’t look like a hunky-dory tourist my entire stay (which I probably still will anyways).  Monday night I finally had to stop the procrastinating, and my mom and I worked hard to check off every item on my VERY extensive packing list.  Since I’ll be away for six weeks in a foreign country, it’s hard to know for sure which material items I will miss the most and which will be most helpful.  Being a chronic over-packer, I can say with positivity that a good amount of stuff in my suitcase will probably never be used or worn in Italy.  Oh well.

One thing I am glad to have packed is my handheld mini fan, since Italians apparently don’t believe in air conditioning.  As childish as these neon battery-powered fans may be, I have a feeling that they are going to become quite a luxury item for me.  Funny isn’t it?  The things that you take for granted everyday?

My mom and I drove up to Minneapolis yesterday along with my (adorable) puppy, Oliver.  Although we had a connecting flight in Chicago, and it would have been easier to drive down there and fly directly, I am glad that I chose to travel with the group.  This morning I met about ten people in my program, most of whom are from the University of Minnesota or a college nearby.  Everyone seems very pleasant and excited to start our adventure!  So far I’ve met two of my Roman roomies, Heather and Janel.  We all share a love of Harry Potter, along with quite a few others on the trip, so we have so far been able to bond over our love for all things HP.

I had a lunch of parmesan cheez itz and a casear salad wrap before leaving Chicago, and was just served a chicken dinner on the flight (which actually was not bad, especially considering that it’s airplane food).

Before dinner I was able to see the hook of Massachusetts and a lot of the US shoreline as we began to travel over the Atlantic Ocean. I lucked out with a window seat!  It is beginning to get dark outside, which means I should probably start considering going to sleep so the jet-lag isn’t so bad.

So goodnight and goodbye America!  See you in six weeks!

 

Leave a Reply

