h1

Connie: Climbing mountains in typhoons

July 19, 2011

The wind started to get vicious last night while we were playing soccer. By the time we got back from stuffing our faces with parfaits (there goes the exercise) it was even harsher. When I woke up this morning it was to the wind whistling from every which way, knocking on my door from the hallway and sending bicycles and tree branches flying outside my balcony. I drifted in and out of sleep for much of the morning thinking about how much I didn’t want to venture down the hill in that kind of weather when my phone buzzed. It was a message from one of my fellow exchange students informing everyone that since trains had been shut down due to the typhoon, all classes were cancelled.

With Monday having been a holiday, a typhoon taking out Tuesday, and no classes on Wednesday, it feels like Golden Week all over again.

Not long after I’d finally dragged myself out of bed I got a phone call from one of my more adventurous friends. “Want to go to Kagamiyama?” he asked enthusiastically. At first I thought he meant the park with that name, but it was soon clear he meant the “yama” part of the word. We were soon ascending up the path to the top of the mountain as the wind whipped us about.

From the top the view was stunning as always and the wind felt awfully nice compared to the stifling humidity that has been bogging us down lately. I sat down on the same bench I had with that freshman several months ago and pondered various things while staring out at the scenery of Shitami, Higashi-Hiroshima and Saijo cities with all the farmland in between. That kind of view and that kind of memory make a lovely combination for typhoon day pondering. Not that anything particular came out of my brain’s activities.

As I said, the view was spectacular, and on the way down we stopped to view one of the most beautiful shrines I’ve seen during my stay. I only had my cell phone camera, so I’m thinking I’ll have to make another trip with a real camera, maybe not during a typhoon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

