h1

Sara: I made it!

September 1, 2011

Hola a todos!

I have made it to Ecuador! The flights were ok, nothing too exciting except a lightening storm in Miami which delayed us on the runway for about an hour.  Other than that I get picked up at the Quito International airport then shipped to a hotel right away.  We then left the next morning for CIMAS (my school).  Here we had tons of orientation (all in Spanish of course!) and then after a traditional Ecuadorian lunch and tour of the school, which is beautiful, I met and went home with my host family! I have my own room in a house about 15 minutes away from the school, so I will be riding the bus each morning and evening. I have a host father (papa) a host mother (mama) and 2 host siblings (Michelle 15, and Aaron 4).

They asked me tons of questions and I have learned so much about them! For example, none of them know English. Today we had a lecture and I felt like I was right back in Minnesota, minus the Spanish immersion.  I just had lunch which I bought at the markets down the street, an orange, a croissant fresh from the oven and a juice.  This weekend we are going on a trip to “las haciendas” which is the rural farms where we will be staying overnight.  Talk about packing things in! I officially start class tomorrow and that is when the real work is going to start.

I’ll have more updates and possibly a few pictures soon!

and for all of you who are wondering, yes, I do have altitude sickness and can barely make it up the stairs here!

Sara (Sarita)

Leave a Reply

