h1

Chelsea: Cold milk? What?

September 20, 2011

Back in the swing of things…back to my “reality” of classes and family time! The trip this weekend was fantastic – just a short 2 hour bus ride away from Quito! We tried out some different types of food – Ecuadorian-Mexican and Ecuadorian-Chinese, both a little different than what you would get in the U.S., but delicious. Otavalo is known for its huge market, and we definitely took advantage of that all Saturday morning! It was fun to look at all of the scarfs/jewelry/crafts and was a good test of my Spanish skills to bargain for my purchases!

Later in the day, we finally found an open tourism office and convinced the man there to let us go horseback riding, even though it was slightly raining and it was later in the day! We went on a horseback ride for over 2 hours through Indigenous communities and some tight mountain passes. My horse was deemed “alegre” (happy), and it definitely lived up to that—it had no concept of walking and liked to pass the guides. I definitely loved it.

We had our first essay due yesterday. Yikes! It’s hard to get anything academic done here with all of the distractions, but my group managed to crank out the 8 page paper in no time.

…just another full week of classes (without any trips, boo!), but should be fun!

This week has been full of cooking. My family had spaghetti (Ecuadorian-style) on Sunday and I made cheesy garlic bread that my family loved! This morning I made pristiños (a type of donut with a honey sauce…) to share with my Spanish class and tomorrow is my brother’s birthday so I’m making my family a breakfast of pancakes, scrambled eggs, and bacon! 

…and this morning I got Trix.  My brother was eating them for breakfast and I think my drool tipped off my mom that I wanted some. It was delicious, despite the 10 minutes of making fun of the fact that I eat my cereal with cold milk (they drink it warm!). Worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

