h1

Chiyo: Welcome to ESPRIT

October 5, 2011

All of us had to get up early for interviews. I followed my roommate Katie’s directions, and got off at Paddington station to grab my connecting tube line. Me being me, I got on the wrong train and ended up back in my neighborhood, and that’s when panic set in because I wasn’t sure if I would make it to my interview on time I had to get back on and go back to Paddington, and then I asked around for how to get to Farringdon, my tube stop. I now understand what Sergeant Paul said to us at our safety orientation, about how American’s were more likely to survive a natural disaster than the Brits. They all just queue up, whereas us American’s push through everyone in order to get to our next destination. I felt like herded cattle, and what felt like several minutes later, I arrived at my platform. My internship is right off the tube stop that I end at, which is convenient for me since walking in heels on cobblestone streets is NOT fun. Or comfortable.

I was buzzed into my building, and met with my supervisor Nicola, who showed me to their boardroom where I had the most informal interview ever. We chatted about our backgrounds and about the company and what they’re doing in the next few months. Nicola told me some of my duties and what I could expect. I can’t wait for the next sample week when I get to sit in and watch all the clients come in while there are showings of the new collection that is coming out in February. I also can’t wait to travel to one of the store locations and work behind the scenes for two days. I know I will gain invaluable information and experience after all this is done and over with, and I can’t wait to meet with the other men and women who work at the showroom.

Once I returned home from my internship and a quick stop at CAPA, I decided to go for a run around my neighborhood to get my bearings. There are several private prep schools in the area, a nice park, and an area lined with cafes, restaurants, a grocery store, etc. I only have class Wed/Thurs and my internship throughout the week, so I’m excited to sleep in for the first time since I’ve gotten here!

Leave a Reply

