h1

Hilary: Beautiful sunset

October 14, 2011

I am sitting in my room writing an analysis about a short story called “la vuelta” or “the return,” it is a very abstract story and I need to write my final Spanish paper on it…  Its about 9 pages long and has a lot of colloquial language… goodness!  Anyway, so I was trying to finish this paper, and was longingly looking outside at the mountains that surround this valley city and saw this amazing sunset!

 

It passed within about five minutes, as I type this now the lights of the city keep the sky bright instead of the sun.  Today was an amazing day in Quito, the weather held off, no rain, just sun and a little wind to keep the heat off of our heads.  As I spend more time inside observing classes, schools, and teaching methods I long more and more to be outside listening and learning away from the politically charged classroom.

I have been missing music so much here!  I can’t wait to get back home and sing and play the piano and guitar and just listen to music!  I am so lucky at Lawrence with everything we have there, its amazing how much music has become a strong part of my life since going there.  Tonight I am going to see an Ecuadorian guitar trio, classic and Andean folk music, should be wonderful!!

My Quiteñan lifestyle is ending in about a week!  The time has gone so fast its incredible!  I have two months left!  In the next two months I will be creating and teaching a six week English program, living in Cotocachi, writing a monograph about my experience, visiting Cuenca over a 5 day break, spending a bunch of time in the northern Andean highlands taking day trips to lagoons and lakes and hopefully getting a lot more exercise than I have been here in Quito, and a lot more!

Over the past weekend I visited what is known as the “Poor Man’s Galapagos” or Puerto Lopez and Isla de la Plata.  It was a great weekend!  I went with two girlfriends and we had so much fun bumming around the town, getting to know the local scene, eating delicious ceviche, and seeing amazing sights, like whales, blue-footed boobies, and sea turtles!!  There were many proposals from locals for marriage and so much more, I think next time I go to the coast I will wear a burke and not speak!  I made the mistake of getting up to dance for a few seconds, and then the whole town flocked to the bar, asking to dance and so much more.  I am actually shielding phone calls right now; Ecuadorian men are so persistent!  I just wanted a boat ride; really, you don’t need to come to Quito and visit me, I promise I don’t want to see you again!  Or to solve my problem I will just say that I am married.

 

I need to get back to finishing this paper now; I hope you are all healthy and happy, and enjoying being where you are.  Enjoy the people you are with and the nature you are surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

