h1

Chiyo: “Keep calm and put the kettle on”

October 17, 2011

I saw the above saying at Portobello Road, and I relate to that saying so much. It’s ironic because as I’m sitting here writing this blog post, I have a cup of tea sitting next to me. This week I’m just trying to survive, since I am swamped with term papers, a presentation for my internship, and a case study for my international marketing paper while juggling my internship. Thursday can’t come soon enough when I am officially on FALL BREAK! 

My day at the showroom went fast like usual, and I got to learn how to process returns that need to be sent back to Germany, and handled more buyer’s queries. I also got some exciting news that I will be working in store again tomorrow morning at the world’s largest shopping mall, Westfield at Stratford City. I loved working in the Esprit store on Oxford Street last month, and I’m excited to go to a different location and help out there. I love getting out of the showroom now and then and being in the actual Esprit stores. 

Back at the flat I’ve been cranking out these term papers, and I definitely got my “second wind” considering I’m already sleep deprived from the night before. The thing that is motivating me for the end of this week is definitely Fall Break, and traveling in mainland Europe for ten days. It will be nice to not have to be at my internship or in classes, and to actually relax for once in my life. Which, for those of you who know me, know that I don’t relax. Ever. I’m also finalizing my plans with my parents for when they arrive at the end of my term in December, and found out that we will be traveling to Scotland, France, and Switzerland (as well as them seeing London). I’m most excited for Switzerland because my parents told me we are staying at a ski lodge, which made my day. I can’t wait for them to get here, because I miss them like crazy, and I want to show them the real London. The longer I live here, the more I realize I’m getting more accustomed to British ways than American ways. I’m so out of the loop with “what’s hot” in America, because I’m surrounded by British news, music, etc. I’ve also definitely picked up the lingo because when I skyped a friend yesterday, instead of saying apartment, I said flat. Well, I’m about to curl up with my book, cup of tea, and have the British X Factor as background noise for the rest of the night.

Leave a Reply

