h1

Grace: Ba baneen yoon!

October 23, 2011

So tomorrow I’m leaving Dakar at 7 am and taking an 8-ish hour bus ride down South to Nioro Alassane Tall. Don’t bother looking it up on Google Maps, you won’t find it, but it’s in the southwest area of Senegal, just north of the Gambia.  There is very limited electricity and running water in the village, and I will be living in a hut, sleeping on the floor and showering with a bucket.  I’m actually really looking forward to the experience, to getting to know the people in the village, to my internship at the Poste de Sante.  And if I can’t survive 6 weeks of living conditions in a village, that’s pretty pathetic since the majority of humans since the beginning of time have lived their entire lives like that. 

Unfortunately though, my computer was stolen last Thursday (wahhhhh), which means my planned excursions to the nearby-ish town to find internet and feel part of the world again are now not going to happen.  So if you’re in the habit of checking my blog everyday, stop doing that.  And have a Happy Halloween, Happy Thanksgiving, good November, and I’ll see ya in December!

p.s. “Ba beneen yoon” means  “until the next time” in Wolof.

Leave a Reply

