h1

Lauren: Weekend in Selfoss

October 30, 2011

This weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to go visit my friend Berglind’s family in Selfoss. I have included Miss Berglind in previous posts but I usually just call her Begga. Anyways, Selfoss is a town in southern Iceland with a population of about 6,500. This lovely picture above is from Google maps. Point A is Reykjavik where I live and point B is Selfoss where I am writing this very blog post this very minute! You can also see in gold Iceland’s Ring Road. Hringvegur (Ring Road) is about 832 miles and I think it would be really cool to drive around it by the end of my stay here but gasoline is very expensive here and so are car rentals… go figure. Plus it is kind of dangerous to drive the roads in the winter… Maybe I will perfect my manual driving skillz over winter break and be ready to tackle Hringvegur by the time May rolls around…. maybe.

Enough about my potential maybe perhaps possible travel plans. So I am in Selfoss now, it was kind of spur of the moment but I am so glad it worked out. I had met Begga’s mamma before because she is a lopapeysa magician and she has come to Gamli Garður, where I live, to fit a few of my dormmates for sweaters she is making them. Lopapeysa is the traditional Icelandic wool sweater. Begga’s mamma sells the lopapeysur she makes and she is giving us a special bargain on our very own sweaters! Yesterday I got to go to the store and pick out the yarn for mine and I even got to watch her start the process for mine! I am pretty excited. Mine won’t exactly be traditional because she is making it more poncho-esque but it will still have a traditional pattern and be made with just as much love!

Begga’s mamma also made us delicious kjötsúpa for dinner on Friday night. Kjötsúpa is traditional Icelandic meat soup (Kjötsúpa= meat soup). This was the third time I tried lamb here and I really enjoyed it! It was so good! I think that I will make this for my family when I come home too! :)

This is not my own picture because I forgot my camera but it looked just like that. It was even better the second day and we had fresh baked bread. Mmmmm! Carrots, potatoes, rutabagas, and lamb.

Begga’s mamma and pabbi are soooooo nice and I really enjoyed my time here this weekend. I have been pretty homesick so it was nice to be removed from the dorm life and sleep in a comfortable bedroom, shower without shoes on, and have homecooked meals… not to mention the lovely conversation and cake.

The last thing I wanted to blog about was the increasing lack of sunlight. I really didn’t think I would notice it until it was dark all day and all night but it is already starting to effect me. Lately it has been very rainy so I always just feel like wrapping up in a blanket and watching television. Iceland does not participate in Daylight Savings Time so next Sunday when all of my friends and family fall back one hour, I will stay at the same time and the time difference between most of us will be 6 hours instead of 5 hours. Kind of sad. But now that November is approaching sunrise is significantly later than when I arrived! I arrived in Iceland really early on Monday August 29th and according to my Google calendar sun rise was at 6am and sunset was at 8:55pm… tomorrow’s projected sunrise is at 9:06am and sunset will be at about 5:15pm. Each day the sun rises 3 minutes later and sets 3 minutes earlier. How crazy is that?!

Leave a Reply

