h1

Chiyo: Busy internship

November 15, 2011

It still amazes me how fast time has been passing since getting back from Fall Break. Our professors warned us that the second half goes faster than the first half, and I didn’t believe them. Until now. I was at my internship today looking at the calendar, and realized I am only in the showroom a mere 12 more times. I’ve become quite the expert at the systems we use, and I hardly have to ask queries anymore. I’m not ready to leave this family that I have become a part of quite yet, and I know that when I have to say my goodbyes it isn’t going to be easy. 

The first job I tackled when I arrived at my showroom was to finish up an excel spreadsheet that I had been working on for all of our IRL (Ireland) customers. To my shock, when I opened up my document, none of my work had saved from last Friday, even though I remember hitting save several times (because I get paranoid), and NONE of it had saved. So I had to start from scratch, and that took up about 2 hours of my time. I sometimes get so caught up in my work, that I tend to forget about lunch. So around 2:15, my supervisor asks me if I had gone to get lunch yet, and I look at the time and realize how much time has passed. Not wanting to leave my work, I just run next door to Sainsbury’s and pick up something quick to eat. I had to retrieve more barcodes for some of our buyers, and I know that if I ever get into a fashion job that involves finding barcodes (style codes and more) for a buyer, I will be a PRO at that. I’ve got the system down to a “T.” I was cranking out my tasks left and right, and before I knew it, it was time for me to head on home. 

Back at the flat I was bitten by the cleaning bug, and tidied up my side of the room, organized all my clothes, cleaned up our living room, and put a load of laundry in. Still having the cleaning bug, I took our bathroom rubbish from both bathrooms and dumped them into a big garbage bag with the rest of the rubbish I had collected, and took out the first bag of trash. I was so proud of myself because I knew our flat would be nice and tidy for when the cleaners came tomorrow. That’s when my roomies told me that actually, no, the cleaners would not be here tomorrow. Because tomorrow is Tuesday. And our cleaners come on Wednesday mornings…fail on my part. But hey, at least we don’t have to worry about tidying up before Wednesday morning now!

My to do list: 

Dscn2911
Leave a Reply

