h1

Whitney: Lesson learned

November 18, 2011

So in Berlin, you have to deposit a one euro coin in order to use a shopping cart at the grocery store (because apparently otherwise people steal them…), so I usually just use a basket instead. It’s more common to get groceries every few days here than to stock up for a few weeks the way I always did in Minneapolis, so I generally only buy a bag’s worth of groceries each trip. Today I decided to broaden my horizons and try out a grocery cart, and I don’t think I’ll ever make that mistake again. I bought twice as much as I normally do because I wasn’t limited to only buying what could fit in a basket, and carrying it the half-mile and 72 stair-steps to my apartment was not a fun task to complete. 

Leave a Reply

