h1

Chiyo: Keep calm, and carry on

November 28, 2011

There’s a saying in Britain, that can be found on posters, tea mugs, oyster card holders, you name it, it’s probably on there. My life motto is probably “Keep Calm, and Carry On,” and today that motto definitely came in handy when I needed it most. 

Waking up to my alarm after a rough night of sleep due to my cough attacks keeping me up, was not pleasant. I arrived at work a few minutes late because of delayed trains on my side of town, and was given my first task for the morning. It is actually one of my favorite tasks. I was given several orders to place for a buyer, and for some reason this task keeps me calm and centered. But before I could get to that, one of my supervisors asked if we could talk in private. Now, I don’t know about you, but when I was little whenever an adult pulled you aside to “talk in private” it was never a good thing. So I wasn’t expecting her to be all unicorns and rainbows and life is FANTASTIC! We sat down, and she asked me if I was happy at Esprit. I was thrown for a loop, because all I do is rave about my internship. After some talking and some other things said, I was pretty torn apart, and let’s just say it ended with me “meditating” for a good 20 minutes in the hallway. 

After  collecting myself, and with a Keep Calm and Carry On mindset, I went back to work. It felt like the longest 8 1/2 hours of my life. I was so happy to see the clock tick 5, which signaled that I was free to go home for the night. I got home and was delighted to have an empty flat, and found out that my friend is taking me to the Chelsea vs. Liverpool game tomorrow night! So that turned my horrible day around. 

I’ve learned that through the negatives, you just have to turn them into a positive. You can either sit and mope, and not do anything about it, or you can take what you have been given, and use it to make you a better person in other fields of life. So that is exactly what I am going to do. I have 1 1/2 days left at my internship, and plan on making the most of it, even though this afternoon I wanted to give up and shut myself down. I want to go out strong, and show them that I can overcome what I’ve been told, and use it to my advantage. 

Dscn3051

Our holiday campaign, with new door front at my showroom

Leave a Reply

