h1

Chiyo: Let’s go around two. And three…

December 10, 2011

So Saturday, my parents and I went on a day tour to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Bath. I’ve been to Windsor Castle twice now, Stonehenge twice (both times this semester), and Bath three times now. I’m getting closer and closer to being able to give a tour of these places I know them so well! 

The first stop was Windsor Castle, and it was like deja vu all over again. We arrived, and it was like I was brought back to 2003, when I first visited the castle. We were told that if the Union Jack was flying, then the Queen was not in, but if the official flag of hers was flying above on the Round Tower, it meant the Queen herself is in. It has been recorded many times that Windsor is the Queen’s favorite place of residence. And guess what? Her flag was flying, meaning when I visited, her royal majesty was somewhere in the castle. I was geeking out. The changing of the guards was also taking place that day, and it was overall a great tour of the castle. 

Our next stop was Stonehenge, and I was very happy that at least this time it was not pouring rain, and only partly cloudy. It was however, windy as all get out, and freezinggggg, but we managed. There were sheepys out grazing, which is what I believe sparked my dad and I’s obsession with sheep…My dad, the official photographer of the trip got the pictures that he wanted, and we boarded the bus to get warm and wait for the rest of the group so we could depart and go to Bath. 

Bath is hands down my favorite city outside of London. It is just very beautiful, and there’s an air to it that I can’t explain. There was an English Christmas market going on, but before we visited the market, we went to the Roman Baths. Since this was my third time at the Roman Baths, I just toured it really fast, and let my parents take their time since it was their first time in Bath. At the end of the tour you can drink the water, which has 43 minerals, and of course I made my parents try it. It is supposed to bring you good health, and it is warm water, with a metallic taste to it. Needless to say, it is disgusting, but I have had it all three times I’ve been to Bath, and next time I pay a visit, I plan on drinking it again. It’s tradition! The market was lovely, and my mom and I picked up a mini black cherry pie for dessert, and my dad enjoyed a cup of mulled wine. We also had a traditional cornish pasty for dinner, and then boarded the bus to make our way back to London. It was a very peaceful ride back into London, and there is just something about a bus that lulls me to sleep. I slept almost the whole way back, and before I knew it I was back in the city.

We went back to our hotel and called it a night, since the next morning we had to catch a train to go to Scotland. 

Leave a Reply

