h1

Lauren: Home Sweet Home

January 1, 2012

But now I need to catch you up on some things:

1. The day I almost died. On November 13th I went on a jeep safari on Langjökull glacier. It was AWESOME! I saw so many amazing sights and it was truly a once in a lifetime experience. I got this opportunity through Inspired by Iceland and I was allowed to bring one guest, so my friend Emily Anderson came along! We packed a lunch filled hit the road early in the morning with our guide Sverrir. It was a caravan of about 50 jeeps and we had a blast! Until we almost died. Glaciers are tricky little things. They are solid ice and constantly moving so the ice cracks and crevasses form. Snow covers cracks and it makes glaciers very dangerous places to be! But I just had to keep telling myself that Sverrir knew what he was doing… until of course our jeep fell into a crack! It was so terrifying! But I lived to tell the tale…. However, I think for now I will take a little break from glaciers.

All the jeeps!


Our Jeep with Sverrir!

2. My trip to Berlin and Prague! Two of my friends, Emily Wall and Akeem, and I went to Berlin and Prague November 14th-21st. We had such a nice time. I experienced staying in a hostel for the first time in my life among many other things that I tried or saw that I may never have an opportunity to again. We flew into Berlin and stayed at The Circus Hostel in a room withe 4 sets of bunkbeds, 1 rude Irish guy, and 3 friendly Brazlians. That night we walked around our neighborhood in Berlin and got some delicious CHEAP food for the first time in months! Since everything is so expensive in Iceland we were LOVING the prices in Germany and the Czech Republic…. maybe a little too much in my case. The next day we took a nice little bus ride to Prague. I LOVED PRAGUE! I loved everything about Prague, the food, the shopping, the castles, the EVERYTHING. I would definitely go to Prague again. It was so beautiful. We were in Prague for 3 days and then we went back to Berlin for 3 days. Berlin, although a really historic city, was not my favorite. It was kind of eerie to me to think about everything that has happened in Berlin from WWII to communism… it just kind of made me sad. But despite that, we went on a GREAT bike tour and I learned a lot about the city. The trip was really fun but I couldn’t help but think about how much I wished my family was with me! If you click THIS then it will bring you to my Facebook photo album. It has pictures from both my trip AND the glacier safari. But here are some of my favorites:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

